Brewers Association Board of Directors announces 2018 board appointments

Brewers Association BeerPulse logo

At-large appointees Larry Horwitz, Jose Mallea increase small brewer representation

(Boulder, CO) — The board of directors of the Brewers Association (BA)—the not-for-profit trade group dedicated to promoting and protecting America’s small and independent craft brewers—is pleased to announce its 2018 at-large appointments.

Larry Horwitz, brewmaster at Four String Brewing (Columbus, OH) and Jose Mallea, co-owner of Biscayne Bay Brewing (Miami, FL) were appointed by the BA board of directors to join the 2018 board as at-large representatives. They replace outgoing at-large representatives Tom Dargen (Gordon Biersch) and Scott Metzger (Freetail Brewing Co.) and will each serve a two-year term.

“With the craft brewing community continuing to grow to more than 6,000 small and independent craft brewers across the country, it is imperative for the board to continue to reflect the interests of brewers of all sizes and ensure that even the smallest voices are heard,” said Rob Tod, board chair, Brewers Association. “In the face of many exciting opportunities and challenges, this is a dynamic time to be a small and independent brewer. I look forward to working alongside our new colleagues to continue making this a great industry, both for those who work in it and the beer lovers who get to enjoy it.”

The Board guides the strategic direction of the Brewers Association and governs the activities of the professional division of the BA, as well as the American Homebrewers Association, Brewers Publications and BA events including the Great American Beer Festival®, Craft Brewers Conference & BrewExpo America® and SAVOR℠.

“Increased representation from some of our smallest members helps ensure the BA is offering tangible services and benefits for businesses at all stages of development,” said Bob Pease, president and CEO, Brewers Association. “The support and guidance from our board members is crucial as we continue to promote and protect the craft brewing landscape on behalf of all of our members.”

Horwitz and Mallea will join newly elected brewpub representatives Tim Brady of Whetstone Station (Brattleboro, VT) and Julie Verratti of Denizens Brewing (Silver Spring, MD) when the new board term begins on February 21, 2018.

email newsletter signup box anonymous tip form

Leave a Reply